I’m Back Y’all – Minnesota Vikings

Posted on 06/05/2014

0


I’m Back Y’all

Virlisa Lane, Official Minnesota Vikings Fan Reporter

Virlisa Lane, Official Minnesota Vikings Fan Reporter

Since the last time we chatted a couple of major events have happened for the Minnesota Vikings.

First, the Vikings were able to snatch up ten collegiate players in the draft.  With the #8 pick the Vikings selected…… not Johnny Manziel or Blake Bortles (because Bortles was selected #3 to the Jaguars, I swear I did not see that one coming), but the Vikings select UCLA LB Anthony Barr.  Stop the press the Vikings selected who? I know we all said that. If you read my past article at nflfemale.com,   I indicated that Anthony Barr was on my radar to watch at the Scouting Combine and I see that he was also on Coaches radar too.  Anthony Barr is a good player I just did not have him as my #8 pick on my mock draft. That just goes to show you how silly mock drafts can be.  Where was Teddy Bridgewater on your Mock Draft? Probably had him going in the second round, huh?  Sound the alarm, Bridgewater is a Viking and guess what, Teddy Bridgewater (Teddy B is what I call him) was selected as the #32 overall (thanks, Seattle).   All in all the Vikings had a really good draft this year by selecting several key defensive players and a pretty decent QB.  Here is a list of the new additions to the Minnesota Vikings Roster:

UCLA LB Anthony Barr

Louisville QB Teddy Bridgewater

Georgia Southern RB Jerick McKinnon

Stanford OL David Yanckey

Virginia Tech CB Antone Exum

Maine CB Kendall James

UCONN DT Shamar Stephen

Georgia Tech LB Brandon Watts

North Carolina CB Jabari Price

Now, let’s discuss this second major event that has happened to the Minnesota Vikings organization.  The football event of all football events is coming back to Minneapolis. Yes, The SUPER BOWL!!  Minnesota has been selected to host the 2018 Super Bowl LII. I am so excited about this. It has been over 20 years since we had the opportunity to host the Super Bowl so this is very exciting news for us Minnesotans.  I have the pleasure of “discussing” with many folks on twitter about why Minnesota is a great place for a Super Bowl.  Here are some top reasons, that have been passed my way, why folks believe that a Super Bowl in Minnesota is not ideal.

Barr and Bridgewater - Vikings 1st round draft picks

Barr and Bridgewater – Vikings 1st round draft picks

First, it’s cold in February.  Why yes it is, it’s absolutely freezing but the new stadium will have a dome, so one will not have to worry about their bum bums getting cold. Downtown Minneapolis also has these walking trails, we call a Skyway. The Skyway is a climate controlled footbridge that enables people to walk in a climate controlled environment.  So, one can enjoy about 8 miles of this footbridge, so you folks can get to walkin’.  We also have a State-of–the-art light rail system that will transport just about anywhere for all you non-walkers.

How will Minnesota keep tourists entertained during the Super Bowl week? Yes, somebody had the audacity to ask me this? Well, we have the Winter Carnival, Torch Parade, Ice Castles, ice skating rinks, downhill sledding, and for you folks that don’t do outdoors, you can spend your days and nights at Mall of America, where you can enjoy miles and miles of shopping, bars, movies and an indoor theme park, or get nightlife on at the several upscale hotels and venues surrounding downtown Minneapolis.  So in other words there is always something to do in Minnesota!!  

It is always my pleasure having the opportunity to talk football and answer any questions one may have about my favorite football team or any other team. However,  if you’re passionate about football please check out the rest of my sistas at nflfemale.com and see what else is going on in this crazy sport we all love.  

Until then, from Minnesota….I’m out!!!

 

Send Me a Tweet:  @TheREALMrsLane

Find Me on Google+:  Virlisa Lane

Read My Other Articles:  Official Fan Updates – Minnesota Vikings

Subscribe to Our You Tube Channel:  NFLFemale and our new webcast ‘Zone Blitz’

Listen to Our Weekly Podcast:  Wednesday Night with NFLFemale

Posted in: Uncategorized